A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius by Dave Eggers – Kira

Dear readers,

I have read this book: A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius (A.H.W.O.S.G.), written by Dave Eggers, my favourite writer. And I loved it. I have read more books written by this great man, like What is the What and Zeitoun. Although my favourite book still is What is the What because of the topic that really interests me, the book A.H.W.O.S.G is coming close. It is about the tragic death of Dave Eggers’ parents, they both died because of cancer, right after each other. Dave, back then just twenty-one years old, had to take care of his little brother, the then eight year old boy Toph. So it is really heavy stuff and I can not say that I like the things he is writing about, that would be cruel, but he does it in a way that makes you cry and laugh, and I appreciate that. It would be easy to write a book about your parents who died when you were in your twenties and make every one cry and just like that your book becomes a bestseller. Dave Eggers writes about his parents who died, about the time he had to take care of his brother, about the most horrible things, but he makes you laugh and cry. He lost his youth. This book is not a cry for attention, not written to get a shoulder to lean on, this book is written because it has to be told. This book is a heartbreaking story and it only proves what a genius Dave Eggers is, again.

I can’t imagine how it would be if my parents would die, in the same year and I honestly don’t know if I would be strong enough to take care of my little brother. It’s not easy for me to think about these things, because I really can’t imagine it and it scares me a bit. But because of this book, my respect for Dave Eggers  has only grown and it puts my own life in perspective. Because I still have my parents and actually everything is all right now, for once. It also shows that even though you have a lousy childhood or your family dies, you can grow up and become a famous writer. It doesn’t necessarily mean you will end up depressed in a madhouse. You just have to be strong and hold on.

I have read this book, it’s a Dutch book named: ”Komt een vrouw bij de dokter” , Kluun wrote this book. It’s also about dying and the terrible disease cancer, the woman in the book dies and her husband wrote the book, after she died. The story is based on his own life . And with this book the writer, Kluun, earned a lot of money just by writing about his wife’s death and the disrespectful things he did. I cried while reading this book, also because it was so shitty. He did it for attention, he did it for the money and he is not a very good writer.

Dave EggersThe bookKomt een Vrouw bij de Dokter, the dutch bookKluun, the dutch writer

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius by Dave Eggers – Kira

Leave a Reply

