A different love story

She is tolerable, but not handsome enough to tempt me, and I am in no humour at present to give consequence to young ladies who are slighted by other men.”

This is one of the first things Mr Darcy said in the book ‘Pride and Prejudice’ by Jane Austen, but also, in my opinion, the most famous one. I first read the book three years ago,  and after the reading, I saw the series (1995) several times. For this post I’ve read it again, and enjoyed it very much. I heard Colin Firth’s voice (Colin Firth plays Mr Darcy in the series of 1995) in my head saying this sentence of Mr Darcy, when I read it. And also other famous ones. It is also a good example of the writing style used in the book, which is end 18th century/ early 19th century English.

Pride and Prejudice’ is the second book published by Jane Austen, the first one is ‘Sense and Sensibility’. But she started writing the book ‘Pride and Prejudice’ first. There’s quite a difference but also a resemblance between these books. In my opinion, the books are very much the same. It’s about the same period of time and also the theme and the characters are very much the same. The only big difference is the tension in the book. I find the subject in ‘Pride and Prejudice’ more special and also more tensional then the subject of ‘Sense and Sensibility’. Also the different areas were the book takes place are more extended in ‘Pride and Prejudice’.

This is why I like Jane Austen’s second published book more, but also because I like the love story in this book more than in  ‘Sense and Sensibility’. It’s different than other love stories because it took a really long time before Mr Darcy and Elizabeth Bennet finally got together. With the characters in ‘Pride and Prejudice’  do I sympathize more than with the characters of ‘Sense and Sensibility’. I think that this has something to do with the way of writing, and also the time it took Jane Austen to write the books.

I want to make clear that Jane Austen’s first book isn’t bad at all, her second is just better. But, to end with a Mr Darcy quote again, “my good opinion once lost, is lost forever”.

By Natasja van der Brug

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

