The Cement Garden

51H69PYMY9L

”I DID NOT kill my father, but sometimes felt I had helped him on his way.”
The Cement Garden, p. 13

This is the first line of Ian McEwan’s physical novel: The Cement Garden.
I kept and kept reading. I like books about strange stories. And yes this is one of them. The novel exits out of two parts. Part one tells the story about a quit normal family; everything looks normal. They only don’t have any friends of other family. The house is secluded from the civilization. The father of the family loves to work in the garden. But since he’s had a hardtack, he can’t work in garden anymore, so he filled the garden with cement.
Part two has got a very different turn, the children are alone in the big house now, they have to keep a secret that nobody knows… they have to keep it secret, only for one thing: staying together.
But can they keep  their secret safe?

Jack (one of the children) tells the whole story, the family has been threw allot. He describes the painful situations with much detail.  It almost felt like I was standing in his position. I wanted to read more notwithstanding the terrible, crazy scenes and situations. They are isolated from the outside, and because of that the relationships with each other become more and more strange.

‘’Girls can wear jeans and cut their hair short and wear shirts and boots because it’s okay to be a boy; for girls it’s like promotion. But for a boy to look like a girl degrading, according to you, because secretly you believe that being a girl is degrading. Why else would you think it’s humiliating for Tom to wear a frock?’’
The Cement Garden, p. 55-56

This is a good example of the strange things that happen in this book.
Tom, the youngest of them all wants to be a girl. Because they don’t get bullied.  So his sisters treat and dress him like a girl.

I’m very picky if it comes to books. And if I don’t like a book, I don’t read further. The book takes place in the heat of the summer, in a big house. When I was reading the book I could picture it so good. I don’t know how McEwan does it but it’s like I don’t read a book but see a movie.
So for people who like physical, strange stories that almost are unbelievable, this is a book you must read!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

